On 11/05/2013 10:17 AM, Daryl McDonald wrote: > Greetings Mythizens, Am I correct in assuming that files that I have
> deleted through the front end will be deleted by the back end first
> when the 750 Gb partition fills up? (before files not deleted in the
> front end) I am using a combined FE/BE 0.27 fixes within a Ubuntu12.04
> lts desktop.
Short Live TV recordings (<2min) are automatically deleted
"immediately," as created (to get rid of garbage caused by channel
surfing). Other than that, MythTV tries to keep recordings around under
the "unused space is wasted space" ideal.
When you delete a recording, it will be placed into the Deleted
recording group. By default, shows that are deleted to the Deleted
recording group will be removed from the file system "soon" (allowing
you a short period during which to change your mind). However, you may
tell MythTV to keep those Deleted recordings for any number of days from
1 to 365, or "forever" (by specifying -1).
Then, when a file system fills up *and* MythTV is recording a new show
to that file system, it will start to expire old recordings. First to
be expired are Live TV recordings. After those are all gone, recordings
in the Deleted recording group will be expired (even if they are newer
than the "Time to retain deleted recordings (days)" setting). Once all
Deleted recordings are gone, recordings that are not Deleted are
expired. If you've enabled the "Watched before unwatched" setting ("If
enabled, programs that have been marked as watched will be expired
before programs that have not been watched."), then any recordings (on
that file system) that are marked as Watched will be deleted before any
recording that's not marked as Watched, regardless of auto-expiration
priority. Note, also, that you can specify the Auto-Expire method to
choose the rules by which the order for expiration will be chosen.
So, it's critical to remember that only those recordings on the file
system in use are eligible for expiration, so if you have multiple file
systems and your recordings are not well balanced across file systems
(in terms of space usage and Deleted/not-Deleted and Watched/not-Watched
and various Auto-Expire priorities), you could lose some recording
that's more important to you than others that aren't expired.
So, in the end, if you care about the order things are removed, you
should manually remove recordings to make room on all your file systems
for new recordings rather than rely on MythTV to try to guess the right
order. You may go into the System Status screen in mythfrontend and
select Auto-Expire Order and see the "priority" order for expiration.
Then, simply select to delete the recordings you care least about (using
MENU, by default "M").
mythtv-users mailing list